If you have any other questions, concerns or seek clarification on the process of registering and voting, you can contact the Lincoln County Bureau of Elections Clerk at firstname.lastname@example.org or by calling (575) 648-2394 ext. 130.
- If you have a current or expired New Mexico state I.D. or driver’s license, you can register or update your registration online with our Online Voter Registration System: https://portal.sos.state.nm.us/OVR/WebPages/InstructionsStep1.aspx
- A voter can use the paper application found here: (English / Español) and mail it to Lincoln County Clerk, PO Box 338, Carrizozo NM 88301
- A voter may request a copy of the paper application be mailed to them by contacting Lincoln County Clerks’ Office at (575) 648-2394 ext. 6.
- You may also register with a Third-Party Registration Agent (see below).
- If you are registering for the first time in New Mexico, and you submit the registration form by mail, then you must submit with the form, a copy of (1) a current and valid photo identification; or (2) a current utility bill, bank statement, government check, paycheck, student identification card or another government document, including identification issued by an Indian nation, tribe or pueblo that shows your name and current address. If you do not submit one of these forms of identification with your mailed-in, first-time registration, then you will be required to present one of the forms of identification when voting in person or absentee.
- Once the county clerk has accepted the form for filing, individuals or groups may make a public records request. However, the day and month of birth and the Social Security number on the form are always privacy protected.
- You can check your registration status using the Secretary of State’s online Voter Services, available here.
- You can register immediately upon becoming a resident.
- Yes! You do not need a New Mexico MVD issued I.D. or driver’s license to vote. MVD issued forms of identification are only required for online registration and online absentee ballot requests.
- You can use the paper application found here: (English / Español) to register to vote. Your out-of-state I.D. or driver’s license in combination with a current utility bill, bank statement, government check, paycheck, student identification card or another government document, including identification issued by an Indian nation, tribe, or pueblo that shows your name and current address to meet the identification requirement. (Section 1-4-5.1(I) NMSA 1978).
- Voter registration closes 28 days prior to an election. (Section 1-4-8, NMSA 1978).
- Same-Day Voter Registration is available. Click HERE for the FAQ page.
- Registration applications may be submitted by hand or mailed to the appropriate county clerks through the Friday following the registration deadline, provided the date and/or postmark is before the deadline (28 days prior to the election). (Section 1-4-8 (F), NMSA 1978).
- No, registration is permanent in New Mexico. If you have moved and not voted in several years, it is possible your name may be removed from the voter rolls in accordance with the National Voter Registration Act (see National Voter Registration Act (NVRA) Questions, below). Check your voter registration status to make sure you are registered and all your information is correct at https://voterportal.servis.sos.state.nm.us/WhereToVote.aspx
- Yes, the content of your ballot including districted offices, bond questions, and other types of ballot contests is directly associated with the precinct of your physical address of registration.
- No. You can choose to select a political party affiliation if you wish, or you can decide to not be affiliated with any political party. The choice is yours to make and does not impact the validity of your registration form.
- Any applicant may choose to check the “No Party” box on the application; however, New Mexico has a closed primary, so only those registered in a major political party may participate in the primary election. The major political parties in New Mexico are:
- Democratic Party
- Republican Party
- Libertarian Party
- Voters who are affiliated with all other political parties or voters who have no political party affiliation may not vote in primary elections in New Mexico. However, all voters regardless of political affiliation, are invited to participate in all other elections.
- You need to fill out a new voter registration form and submit it to the county clerk or Secretary of State’s office or submit a new registration online to change your party affiliation.
- You may complete the voter registration form now, but you may not sign any petition. 17-year-olds who will be 18 by the general election may participate in the primary election. Voters must be 18 to participate in all other elections.
- By completing the voter registration form now, you are in essence pre-registering, but you do not become an eligible voter until you have reached your 18th birthday. Only eligible voters may sign petitions or vote in an election.
State law allows for Third-Party Registration Agents to assist persons to register to vote (Section 1-4-49, NMSA 1978). These agents must attend training and register with the Secretary of State’s Office. They can prove the validity of their third-party registration agent status by showing you their notarized ‘Voter Registration Agent Identification Form.’
- No, however, it does come in handy if the County Clerk needs to contact you in the event there is an issue concerning the processing of your registration. If you have an unlisted phone number and you are willing to provide that number, simply check “No” next to the phone number and we will not disclose that number to anyone else.
- You can check your registration status at any time using our My Registration Information tool: https://voterportal.servis.sos.state.nm.us/WhereToVote.aspx
- Once the county clerk has processed your registration form, they will send confirmation of your registration by mail in the form of a voter information card. Once you receive the card, please review it to make certain there are no errors in the spelling of your name, your address, or your political party affiliation. The time it takes to process your voter registration application varies from county to county and depends on whether the registration books are closed due to an upcoming election. Please contact Lincoln County Clerk’s Office if you have any questions about your registration being processed.
- If you register to vote after registration has closed, the county clerk will still accept your voter registration application but it will not be processed until thirty-five (35) days after the election in accordance with Section 1-4-8 (D) NMSA 1978.
- If you have been convicted of a felony, you can register to vote once you have completed the court-ordered sentence of imprisonment, including any term of parole or probation for the conviction. This provision includes federal, state, and out-of-state convictions. You may be asked to provide a certification or affidavit of completion from probation and parole or the court system for the County Clerk to determine that all sentencing requirements have been satisfied prior to processing the voter registration.
You should contact the Department of Corrections, Division of Parole and Probation (505.827.8830), or a comparable agency in the state in which you were convicted to obtain a copy of your completion paperwork for the County Clerk’s office in which you are trying to register to vote in.
- Democratic Party of New Mexico
- Republican Party of New Mexico
- Libertarian Party of New Mexico
In New Mexico, only major political party candidates will appear on the Primary Election ballot.
Minor Parties (Qualified Political Parties in New Mexico)
- New Mexico Working Families Party
- Green Party of New Mexico
Qualified minor party candidates may appear on the General Election ballot and are nominated for office pursuant to the party rules on file with the Secretary of State and pursuant to NMSA 1978 §§ 1-8-2 and 1-8-3.
Same Day Voter Registration
New Mexicans who are eligible to vote can register to vote or update their voter registration immediately before voting in a statewide election during Early Voting and on Election Day. This is what’s known as “same day voter registration.”
Any eligible voter in New Mexico can register to vote or update their voter registration and then vote on the same day at their County Clerk’s office or at any polling location in their county on Election Day and participating Early Voting locations.
SDR is available for eligible voters at their County Clerk’s office or at any polling location in their county on Election Day. Additional Early Voting locations may also provide SDR – it’s best to check with your local county clerk.
Whether you are an unregistered voter or an already registered voter looking to update your registration, to use SDR you’ll need to bring:
(1) a New Mexico driver’s license or New Mexico identification card issued through the
motor vehicle division of the taxation and revenue department.
(2) any document that contains an address in the county together with a photo identification
(3) a current valid student photo identification card from a post-secondary educational
institution in New Mexico accompanied by a current student fee statement that contains the student’s address in the county.
Decline-to-state voters in New Mexico are registered voters who have chosen not to affiliate with a major political party. Minor party voters are registered with political parties that do not have major party status (currently, only Democrats, Republicans, and Libertarians are recognized as major parties in New Mexico).
Only voters who are affiliated with a major party can vote in Primary Elections in New Mexico (General Elections are open to all registered voters).
If you are registered as DTS or with a minor party, you can ONLY vote in the Primary Election by going to your County Clerk’s office, any participating polling place in your county during Early Voting, or any Election Day polling location to update your registration, using the Same Day Registration process, to one of the major parties. You can then vote in the Primary Election for whichever major party you’ve chosen.
Voters who utilize this option and who then wish to revert to being DTS or registered with a minor party can update their registration online at NMVOTE.ORG or fill out a paper registration after they’ve voted in the Primary Election.
Major party voters may update their name, address, or other contact info during SDR. However, if you are currently registered with a major political party, you cannot use SDR to switch parties during the Primary Election.
No. SDR is only available for voters voting in person, on the same day, at the same time they register to vote, or update their voter registration at an in-person (Early or Election Day) polling location.
- You do not have to present identification to vote. When registering for the first time in New Mexico, you must submit a copy of (1) a current and valid photo identification; or (2) a current utility bill, bank statement, government check, paycheck, student identification card or other government document, including identification issued by an Indian nation, tribe or pueblo that shows your name and current address. If you do not submit the required identification with your mailed-in, first-time registration, then you will be required to present one of the forms of identification when voting in person or absentee.
A physical form of identification is only required for first-time New Mexico voters who registered by mail and did not include identification with their voter registration application form.
Otherwise, you will be asked to provide a verbal or written statement of identification including your name, year of birth, and registered address.
- Yes, an “inactive” status does not prohibit any registered voter to vote. You will vote like usual, and your status will return to “active.”
Information, deadlines, and eligibility requirements for military and overseas voters can be found Here
You can leave that information blank. This information is for internal use only.
By law, your ballot is secret, and no one can find out how you voted. Certain portions of your voter registration record, including party affiliation and whether you voted in a particular election, is public record and may be requested. Voter registration record information is most often requested by political parties and candidates for a fee.
Pursuant to NMSA 1978, Section 1-6-10.1, a voter, caregiver to that voter or member of that voter’s “immediate family” defined as a person’s spouse, children, parents, brothers, and sisters may deliver a voter’s absentee ballot to the county clerk in person, by mail, or to any polling location.
When casting the write-in vote, fill in the oval and write the name of the declared write-in candidate. Unless both requirements are fulfilled, the vote will not be counted.
Absentee Voting by Mail
Request an absentee ballot by filling out an application and returning it to your local County Clerk. Applications can be obtained by:
- Fill out an application online by Clicking Here
- Contacting Lincoln County Clerks’ Office in person, by phone (575) 648-2394 ext. 6, mail PO Box 338, Carrizozo NM 88301, or email email@example.com or firstname.lastname@example.org
A ballot will be sent to voters who have properly filled out the application. If the application was not completed correctly, a notification with the reason why the application was not accepted will be sent within 24 hours of receipt of the application.
To check the status of your Absentee Application, go here or contact Lincoln County Clerks’ Office.
If you do not receive the absentee ballot, please contact us at (575) 648-2394 ext. 6
- Additional options for registering and requesting an absentee ballot for military and overseas voters are available under federal and state law. Please visit the Military and Overseas Voter Information page for more details.
- The county clerk must receive the application for an absentee ballot no later than the Thursday immediately prior to the election (Section 1-6-5(F), NMSA 1978).
- Within twenty-three (23) days of Election Day, the county clerk must either mail the ballot or notice of rejection to the applicant as soon as practicable; provided that the ballot or a notice of rejection is sent not later than twenty-two (22) days before the election (Section 1-6-5(F), NMSA 1978).
- Yes, but must execute an affidavit stating that the person did not and will not vote the mailed ballot that was issued. (Section 1-6-16 (A) NMSA 1978)
- If you apply for, but do not receive the absentee ballot, you may apply for a replacement absentee ballot by communicating with the county clerk and requesting a replacement provisional mailed ballot be delivered to the voter; and executes an affidavit and the county clerk has voided the mailed ballot previously issued to the voter. (Section 1-6-16 (B), NMSA 1978).
- You may go to your polling place and vote on a replacement absentee ballot on Election Day, after signing an affidavit of non-receipt of the absentee ballot (Section 1-6-16.1(A), NMSA 1978).
- In both cases, you will be required to sign a sworn statement, under penalty of perjury, that you did not receive your ballot.
- A member of your immediate family or your caregiver may hand-deliver your absentee ballot, provided that the voter has subscribed the official mailing envelope of the absentee ballot. An unrelated third party may not deliver another voter’s absentee ballot.(Section 1-6-10.1, NMSA 1978).
- Ballots must be returned to the county clerk or any voting convenience center by 7:00 p.m. on Election Day to be counted (Section 1-6-10 (B), NMSA 1978).
- Return postage is pre-paid. Please ensure you return the ballot with enough time for it to arrive at your County Clerk’s office before 7 pm on Election Day. For more details, log on to the Voter Information Portal.
- You can leave that information blank. This information is for internal use only.
Military and Overseas Voters
- If you are a military or overseas voter, you may transmit your absentee ballot by facsimile or scanned document to your county clerk. You must sign and transmit a waiver of secrecy form that will be provided by the county clerk. For more information please view our Military and Overseas Voter Information page, contact Lincoln County Clerks office at (575) 648-2394 ext. 6 or, email email@example.com
Voters with Disabilities
A person with a visual impairment has the option of requesting a visually impaired absentee ballot or voting at a polling location. If you choose a visually impaired ballot, you will need access to screen reading software to fill out an electronic ballot, and a printer to print the ballot. If you choose to vote at a polling location, you may ask for assistance if needed or use an accessible voting machine.
A visually impaired ballot is an absentee ballot designed for use with adaptive technology such as nonvisual access or low vision access. It is NOT a braille nor a large print ballot.
Visually impaired ballots are designed for anyone with a visual impairment who has access to an adaptive technology. Keep in mind that when you apply for a visually impaired absentee ballot, you are attesting to a visual impairment and making the statement under penalty of perjury pursuant to federal law.
The online absentee ballot application system has been updated to make it accessible by screen readers and includes an option to indicate that the voter requires a visually impaired ballot. The paper application also contains a check box for this type of ballot.
Once the absentee ballot is accepted, the county clerk will email the voter a link to their electronic ballot. In addition, the county clerk will mail the voter the outer envelope and inner envelope. The voter will be able to read and fill out the ballot using their screen reader, print it out, and return it in the envelope provided by the county clerk.
Visually impaired ballots are counted by hand as they cannot be fed into the tabulator.
Voters with print disabilities have the option of requesting to use of the accessible voting equipment at any polling location or utilizing their right to have someone assist them. Designated election workers at the polling place can assist you. You may also bring someone to help you vote. This person cannot be your employer, an agent of your employer, an agent or officer of your union, nor a candidate on the ballot
Each polling place is equipped with accessible voting equipment which anyone can use. Simply, speak to a poll official to let them know your preference.
The Accessible Voting Session (AVS) allow you to do the following:
- View the ballot paper and large LCD screen.
- Change screen color scheme, contrast, and font size.
- Use headphones to allow the system to read the ballot to you, using the tactile interface.
- Use an integrated ballot marking device that does not require the voter to use appropriate ballot marking pens, the ballot has low force buttons for voter interface.
Visually impaired ballots are classed as absentee ballots and cannot be sent out until 28 days prior to an election. If you have not received your emailed ballot within two days of the request AND it is within 28 days of an election, contact your county clerk to get the email re-sent to you. Before contacting your local county clerk, please double check your spam folder.
If it has been more than a week since you received the link to your ballot, contact your local county clerk and they will mail you an envelope.
Visually impaired ballots are designed to work with most screen readers and adaptive technology. We recommend making sure that your software is fully up to date for the best compatibility with your ballot.
Yes. The Constitution of New Mexico only places restrictions on “persons who are unable to mark their ballot and who are concurrently also unable to communicate their voting preference.” If you can mark your ballot or tell someone how to mark your ballot, you can vote.
An emergency provisional ballot can be issued in some cases. You will need to provide a written request for an absentee ballot, to your local county clerk, that is signed by you and your healthcare provider under penalty of perjury. Once the request is processed and a ballot is issued, your authorized representative can bring your ballot to you and return it to the clerk’s office or polling location on your behalf. For more information about this process please contact your County Clerk’s office.
If you are experiencing difficulties while voting at a polling site, you can ask a poll worker for help or ask for the presiding judge. If your issues are not resolved, you can contact your county clerk’s office or call the Secretary of State’s office at 505-827-3600 and select Option 2 or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org
Early Voting in Person
- You may also vote early in-person, instead of voting by mail. You may go to Lincoln County clerk’s office at 300 Central Ave, Carrizozo NM 88301, beginning the 28th day before the election and vote. (Section 1-6-5, NMSA 1978).
- Expanded early voting is available at Lincoln County Courthouse, and an alternate location beginning on the third Saturday before the election. Look up early voting locations here or call (575) 648-2394 ext. 6 for locations and dates and hours of operation.
- Early voting ends the Saturday before the election.
National Voter Registration Act (NVRA)
- The NVRA increases the opportunities for eligible voters to register to vote in federal elections. States are required to offer voter registration opportunities by mail, at MVD offices, at public assistance agencies and at other designated offices.
- The Secretary of State is the chief elections official responsible for coordination of the state’s responsibilities under the NVRA. The Secretary of State is also in charge of making the registration forms available through governmental and private entities.
- The Voting Section of the Civil Rights Division of the U.S. Department of Justice is tasked with enforcing the NVRA. You can learn more about the NVRA here: https://www.justice.gov/crt/about-national-voter-registration-act
- New Mexico uses paper ballots that are scanned on an optical scan tabulating system. This system is used for early voting, absentee voting, and Election Day at each polling location. New Mexico’s voting equipment is uniform state-wide: Dominion Voting Systems Imagecast Evolution and Imagecast Precinct with ballot marking device (ADA Compliant).
- If you become ill after the period for absentee balloting and are unable to go to the polls, you may request, in writing, that an alternative ballot be made available to you. The written request must be signed by the voter and a health care provider under penalty of perjury (Section 1-6-16.2, NMSA 1978).
- You may request assistance in voting at the polls if you are blind, physically disabled, unable to read or write, or a member of a language minority (Section 1-12-12, NMSA 1978).
- Any person of your choice may assist you, except your employer, an agent of the employer, an officer or agent of your union, or a candidate whose name is on the ballot (Section 1-12-15, NMSA 1978).