Please contact the office prior to your arrival at 575-648-2394 ext 6. or email email@example.com to schedule an appointment.
Applicants must be 18 years of age to obtain a marriage license without parental consent. Both applicants must be present and have photo identification with the date of birth. Applicants 16 or 17 years of age must bring a birth certificate and must have consent of each of the minor’s living parents as shown on the certificate of birth. Consent may be provided in person with identification or by notarized affidavit of consent.
The cost for a marriage license is $25.00.
Click Here for a list of Marriage Services
40-1-2. Marriages solemnized; ordained clergy or civil magistrates may solemnize.
- The Civil contract of marriage is entered into when solemnized as provided in Chapter 40, Article 1 NMSA 1978. As used in Chapter 40, Article 1 NMSA 1978, “solemnize” means to join in marriage before witnesses by means of a ceremony.
- A person who is an ordained member of the clergy or who is an authorized representative of a federally recognized Indian nation, tribe or pueblo may solemnize the contract of marriage without regard to sect or rites and customs the person may practice.
- Active or retired judges, justices and magistrates of any of the courts established by the constitution of New Mexico, United States constitution, laws of the state or laws of the United States are civil magistrates having authority to solemnize contracts of marriage. Civil magistrates solemnizing contracts of marriage shall charge no fee therefor.
If you obtained your marriage license in Lincoln County and you need a certified copy please complete the attached application and remit the proper fee to the Lincoln County Clerk.
Click here for the Lincoln County Clerk Public Information Request Form
The County Clerk’s office does not file Divorce and Foreclosures, these are filed in District Court (575) 648-2432
Click here for: 12th District Court Divorce Info
Birth and death certificates are administered by the State of New Mexico (505) 841-4185
Click here for: NM Birth and Death Certificates